Town of Montville Town Council Special Meeting Minutes for December 2, 2009 6:00 PM – Town Council Chambers Town Hall

- 1. <u>Call to Order</u> Chairwoman Jacobson called the meeting to order at 6:00 PM.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. <u>Roll Call</u> Present were Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Also present was Mayor Jaskiewicz. Absent were Councilors Buebendorf and Caron.
- 4. Executive Session
- A. Motion by Councilor Beetham, Second by Councilor Murphy to enter into Executive Session for the purpose of interviewing the following people for appointment or re-appointment to boards and/or commissions: Mr. David Jetmore for re-appointment to the Public Safety Commission; Ms. Deborah Schober for re-appointment to the Water & Sewer Commission; Ms. Marilyn Williams for re-appointment to the Youth Advisory Board; Mr. John Geary for appointment to the Commission on the Aging and/or the School Building Committee; Mr. James Andriote, Sr. for appointment to the Economic Development Commission and/or the Public Safety Building Committee; Mr. James Toner for appointment to the Economic Development Commission and/or the Public Safety Commission; and Ms. Laura Tanner for appointment to the Youth Advisory Board. Mr. William Pieniadz, Ms. Christy Wojcik and Mr. Scott LaVallie were not present. Executive Session will include Town Council members and Mayor Jaskiewicz. Voice Vote: In Favor; Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; None. Motion Carried 5-0. Council members entered into executive session at 6:02 PM; they returned at 6:50 PM and Chairwoman Jacobson stated that no formal votes were taken.
- 5. Remarks from the Public None.
- 6. Appointments and Resignations
- A. **Motion** by Councilor Hillman, Second by Councilor Murphy to waive the waiting period in order to reappoint Ms. Marilyn Williams to the Youth Advisory Board. **Roll Call Vote:** In Favor; Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; None. **Motion Carried 5-0.**
- B. **Motion** by Councilor Hillman, Second by Councilor Beetham to re-appoint Ms. Marilyn Williams to the Youth Advisory Board, with a term to expire on December 10, 2011. **Voice Vote:** In Favor; Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; None. **Motion Carried 5-0.**
- C. **Motion** by Councilor Beetham, Second by Councilor McFee to appoint Ms. Mari Jurczyk to the Commission on the Aging, with a term to expire on November 14, 2010. **Voice Vote:** In Favor; Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; None. **Motion Carried 5-0.**
- D. **Motion** by Councilor McFee, Second by Councilor Beetham to appoint Mr. Steven Loiler to the Public Safety Commission as an alternate member, with a term to expire on August 10, 2012. **Discussion:** Councilor Murphy requested that this matter be postponed to the regular meeting of December 14th in order to review the Charter to confirm that an alternate position is mandated for the Public Safety Commission. **Motion** by Councilor Hillman, Second by Councilor Murphy to postpone this matter to the December 14, 2009, regular meeting. **Voice Vote:** In Favor; Councilors Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; Councilor Beetham. **Motion Carried 4-1. Postponed to the December 14, 2009, meeting.**
- 7. <u>Communications</u> None.
- 8. New Business None.
- 9. Remarks from the Public None.
- 10. Remarks from Councilors

Councilor Murphy stated that he means no disrespect to Mr. Loiler; however, he feels that the Council should postpone his appointment until the matter of appointing an alternate to the Public Safety Commission is confirmed.

11. <u>Adjournment</u> – **Motion** made by Councilor Hillman, Second by Councilor Beetham, to adjourn the meeting. **Voice Vote:** In Favor; Councilors Beetham, Hillman, Jacobson, McFee and Murphy. Opposed; None. **Motion Carried 5-0. The meeting adjourned at 6:58 PM**.

Respectfully Submitted by:

Sandra Anderson CPS Minutes Clerk Montville Town Council