

March 2, 2020

TO: Members of the Educational Evaluation Committee Town Clerk

> Educational Evaluation Committee Meeting Tuesday, February 25, 2020, 5:15 p.m. Superintendent's Large Conference Room

Present: Robert Mitchell, Sheelagh Lapinski, Sandra Berardy, Carol Bugess. Also present were the Elementary Library Media Specialists Mary Ellen Kane, Krista Peltier and Sara Schutz, Assistant Superintendent Dianne Vumback and Superintendent Laurie Pallin Absent: Dana Ladyga

- 1. Call to order -5:15 p.m.
- 2. Pledge of Allegiance
- 3. Elementary LMS Transition to Creative Technologies -

- Mary Ellen Kane, Krista Peltier, and Sara Schutz, the district's three elementary library media specialists, presented on the shift from Library Media to creative Technology.

The elementary Creative Technology Program nurtures students to become lifelong learners and explorers, outside of the general classroom curriculum. Lessons and units are based on the CSTA (Computer Science Teacher Association) Standards (Adopted June 2018 by CT SDE) & ISTE (International Society for Technology in Education) Standards (Adopted June 2018 by CT SDE).

Students are first exposed to digital citizenship where they learn how to make safe and appropriate choices when using different types of technology. Digital citizenship aids students in communicate safely, collaboratively, and responsibly with technology.

Students are also immersed in coding and robotics. Students are engaged in exciting "plugged" and "unplugged" lessons where they learn to sequence commands and directions. Coding and robotics teaches computational thinking, problem solving, and programming concepts.

Students are then involved in Makerspace and the Engineering Design Process. Makerspace is a time for creative exploration, engineering, tinkering, design challenges and inventing. In a Makerspace students have the opportunity to discover, assemble, construct, test and explore, using "outside the box" thinking.

- 4. Discussion of Future Agenda Items
 - Next Generation Science Curriculum
- 5. Adjournment

Motion to Adjourn at 5:55 pm **Proposed by:** Carol Burgess **Seconded by:** Sheelagh Lapinski **Vote: All in Favor** Carried: (vote 4-0)