Montville, CT

Parks and Recreation Commission

Parks and Recreation Commission

Montville Town Hall
Parks and Recreation Commission
310 Norwich-New London Turnpike
Uncasville, CT 06382

Contact This Department

The commission consists of nine (9) members who are appointed by the Town Council to serve for a 4 year term. The members serve without compensation.

Name Party Term Expires
Mary Hillman
D 11/14/26
Jon Chase
D 01/09/25
Deborah Schober D 11/08/26
Rocky Stone, Chair U 04/13/28
Mathieu Beaupre, Vice Chair U 10/11/26
Noah Carver D 11/08/26
John Plikus R 10/12/27
William Barlow D 05/11/27
Morgan Matthewson, Secretary
D 10/12/27

Town Council Liaison:  Kate Southard

The commission is responsible for:

  • The management, control and development of the town’s parks and recreation facilities.
  • The preparation of the budget for the recreation department for submission to the director of finance in accordance with the Town Charter.
  • The preparation of a plan of maintenance for the town’s parks and recreation facilities in conjunction with the director of public works. (The mayor shall be responsible for the implementation of the maintenance plan.)
  • The commission shall be responsible for approving plans and programs to fulfill the recreational needs of the residents of the Town of Montville; and
  • Overseeing the implementation of these plans and programs by the recreation department.
  • Recommending not fewer than three (3) candidates for any vacancy in the position of parks and recreation director for selection by the mayor.
  • Establishing departmental policies.
  • The commission is empowered to approve agreements between the recreation department and the board of education for use of facilities under the control of the board of education.

Parks and Recreation Commission By-Laws